January 2014


The European Parliament elections will take place between 22 and 25 May 2014. Each member state has its own electoral laws and decides on what day its citizens will go to the polls during the four-day election period: Cyprus polls will be held on Sunday 25th May 2014.

NOTE, voting is compulsory in: Belgium, Cyprus, Greece and Luxembourg.


EDC News: European Parliament Elections 2014 – Your Vote COUNTS!!!

Every five years EU citizens choose who represents them in the European Parliament and defends their interests in the EU decision-making process.

The 2014 European elections are different from previous years’ elections. Primarily, voters have the chance to influence the future political course of the European Union when they elect the 751 Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) to represent their interests for the next five years. The new political majority that emerges from the elections will also shape European legislation over the next five years in areas from the single market to civil liberties. The Parliament - the only directly elected EU institution - is now a linchpin of the European decision-making system and has an equal say with national governments on nearly all EU laws.

Elections will focus on five thematic phases (Economy, Money, Work, Europe in the world and Quality of life) that reflect the major issues and the work of Parliament and how they tie in with the new powers given to the Parliament. These new powers were established through the Lisbon Treaty 2009, which states are:

For more information check the Parliament's powers and procedures.

Another important change that has occurred is the variation in the distribution and number of seats. Since Croatia joined in July 2013 there have been 766 Members of the European Parliament but this number is being scaled down at the 2014 elections to 751 and will stay at that level in future. Twelve Member States (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Portugal and Romania) will each lose one seat and Germany will lose 3 seats. According to the Lisbon Treaty seats are allocated proportionally to the size of the population and, for the 2014 election, the number of MEPs ranges from six for Malta, Luxembourg, Cyprus and Estonia to 96 for Germany.

Key European Parliament electoral information and dates for Cyprus:

For further information: